New Rules Of IPL 2024 (Two Bouncer in Per Over)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 is scheduled to begin on March 22 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, with defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) facing off against southern rivals Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the opening match.  In this article we will going to talk avbout some IPL 2024 Rules, which you must know, if you are cricket fans.

IPL 2024 will see some changes in the rules compared to the previous season. Bowlers in the upcoming 2024 Indian Premier League will enjoy the freedom to bowl two bouncers per over, a significant departure from the previous norm of only one allowed short ball. A new rule was implemented last season, known as the ‘Impact Player’ rule, which gave teams more flexibility and depth in their playing eleven.

But the BCCI had initially introduced this rule in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) in the 2023-24 domestic season. While T20I strictly follows ICC rules allowing only one short ball, two bouncers are allowed per over in the Test and One Day International (ODI) competitions.

The decision to implement this change was influenced by its successful testing during India’s domestic T20 tournament, the 2023–24 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Jaydev Unadkat, a veteran player with experience in various IPL teams, expressed his support for this change, and highlighted its potential to empower the bowlers and increase the strategic dynamics of the game. So lets see the rules, of IPL 2024.

New Rules Of IPL 2024 (Two Bouncer in Per Over):

No stop clock:

The first rle is No Stop Clock which means the teams will retain the privilege of two reviews, as well as the ability to review wides and no balls, a provision introduced last year. However, a notable departure from recent ICC playing conditions will be seen as the IPL has opted not to adopt the stop clock rule. The decision, which has been made permanent in white-ball international matches, is aimed at ensuring timely conduct of proceedings but will not be implemented in the IPL.

Smart replay system:

The development comes days after the smart replay system was confirmed in the upcoming edition of the tournament. To increase the speed and accuracy of decision making, the TV umpire will now receive direct inputs from two operators of the Hawk-Eye system sitting with him in the same room. Using images captured by eight high-speed cameras strategically positioned on the ground, this new system will aim to provide comprehensive visual data for accurate assessments. As reported by ESPN Cricinfo, the traditional role of the TV broadcast director, acting as an intermediary between umpires and hawk-eyed operators, will become obsolete under this revised setup.

Impact Substitute in 2024:

If a team is naming four foreign players in its playing 11, then they can bring only one Indian as an impact player. The aim is to limit the number of foreign players per game to four per team. However, if a team includes only three or less foreign players in its playing 11, they may bring in one foreign player as an impact player, if the said player is one of the four substitutes named in the toss.

The Two Bouncer in Per Over:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has introduced the Smart Replay System in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 to increase the accuracy and speed of decision making. The smart replay system will allow the TV umpire to refer to more scenes than before, including split-screen images. By leveling the playing field between bat and ball, this tactical change gives bowlers another way to confront batsmen. Following a fruitful trial in India’s domestic T20 championship, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, players and administrators expressed widespread support for the implementation of the rule.

Here Are Some IPL 2023 Rules which will beings Continue in IPL 2024:

  • The last three IPLs have been held at fewer venues; The 2022 edition was held in Mumbai and Pune, the 2021 edition was held at a few venues in India before moving to the UAE, and the 2020 IPL was held entirely in the UAE.
  • IPL 2022 Championship Game at Narendra Modi Stadium Creates Guinness World Record for Largest T20 Match Crowd
  • Of those 14 games, seven will be played on their home pitch, and the remaining seven will be played on their opponent’s home pitch.
  • The latest iteration of the competition was held across six different locations in Mumbai, Pune, Kolkata and Ahmedabad
  • Depending on the outcome of the coin toss, teams can choose their best 11 after the toss. But, until last season, captains had to change teams before the toss.
  • In a playoff or championship game, if the Super Over or any future Super Over cannot be completed for any reason, the higher placed club in the league will be crowned the winner.


So guys this is the new rule of IPL 2024, we hope you get the knowledge about that, we hope you like his article, and if you really like this article then you can comment us in a section below till now share this article to your cricket lover friends. Now we are going to end this article and will be right back soon in another article, so have a good day and bye bye.

Leave a Comment