15 Amazing Facts about IPL

As IPL is getting closer, like every year this year too the public is looking quite excited, many cricket fans my not know about IPL facts. So hey guys welcome to this article, so in this article we will going to talk about some amazing facts of IPL, so read this article till end because his article is going to be very interesting, because, many of them don’t know these facts or you know but doesn’t notice, but any way, lets start this article without any further delay.

15 Amazing Facts about IPL:

Facts No 1:

Kings XI Punjab is the only team that has changed its captain 11 times in the course of IPL. On the contrary, Chennai Super Kings is the only team who’s captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been constant since the first match.

Facts No 2:

Harbhajan Singh has played a total of 160 matches and has bowled 1,249 dot balls. This is the most number of dot balls delivered by any player in the history of this tournament. Lasith Malinga comes second with 1,155 dot balls.

Facts No 3:

Two bowlers share the feat of performing the most miserly spell in the IPL. Both instances occurred in the 2009 edition in South Africa. The difference was that Fidel Edwards ended on the winning side while Ashish Nehra did not. Edwards produced figures of 4-1-6-0 as Deccan thumped Kolkata by eight wickets with almost seven overs to spare. Nehra’s effort of 4-1-6-1, however, could not prevent Delhi from losing to Punjab by six wickets.

Facts No 4:

A bowler tries to do everything right, but sometimes the calculations don’t work out and the players bowl a no-ball. However, this was not the case with leg-spinner Piyush Chawla. He is one of the most underrated spinners in the Indian Cricket and during his time with Delhi Daredevils he did not bowl a single no-ball for 386 overs. That’s for 8 long years he did not give the other side a free-hit.

Facts No 5:

The first run in IPL came from a delivery bowled by Praveen Kumar, however, it came from the bat of Brendon McCullum. Adding to this interesting fact about IPL the first extra run in the next 2 seasons of IPL came from Sri Lankan players, Thilan Thishara and Chaminda Vaas respectively.

Facts No 6:

In 2018, Star Sports won the broadcasting rights for IPL for a tenure of 5 years for an eye watering sum of Rs. 16,347.5 crore. That is Rs. 3269.5 crore per year. This means that every delivery in the IPL will cost the network over Rs. 24 lakh given every season 56 matches are played and every match is played with each side playing all their 20 overs. Majority of the people do not know this making it one of the most unknown facts of IPL.

Facts No 7:

Fact number 4 told you that CSK played the most IPL finals across all the IPL franchises in the history of this tournament, however, they are not the team who have won the IPL title the most number of time. Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title a total of 4 times. CSK comes close to 3, we hope they could tie it this time.

Facts No 8:

Another Indian shines as Praveen Kumar is the IPL bowler with most number of maiden over at 14. Interesntingly, the 2nd and 3rd spots are also taken by Indian players with 10 and 8 maiden overs. Irfan Pathan has bowled 10 maiden overs while Dhawal Kulkarni has bowled 8 maiden overs.

Facts No 9:

You may know cricket is a gentleman game, even the best of players can have bad days. In the history of IPL, there are two players who share the title for being sent to the dressing room without scoring a single run. Harbhajan Singh and Parthiv Patel, both, have been sent back 13 times without scoring a single run. However, Bhajji attained this feat in just 88 innings in IPL. And a lesser known fact of IPL is that Rohit Sharma has been sent back to the dressing room on a duck 12 times. We hope this number does not increase.

Facts No 10:

Robin Uthappa, Chennai Super Kings’ retained player, smashed 25 fifty-plus scores in his IPL career. He played a crucial role for CSK in Qualifier-1 and the final match of IPL 2021. Furthermore, he is the sixth-highest run-scorer (4722) in the tournament among Indian players.

Facts No 11:

Do, you know who score fastest century in cricket? Well in IPL 2018, K L Rahul smashed a half century in just 14 balls, a record which still holds strong. The second fastest came from Yusuf Pathan’s bat when he managed to touch 50 runs in 15 balls in IPL 2014.

Facts No 12:

The first Indian to ever get an orange cap, the award given to the highest scorer of the tournament, was won in 2010, in the 3rd edition of IPL. What comes out as an interesting fact of IPL is that it was none other than the master blaster, Sachin Tendulkar, who won it.

Facts No 13:

Ajinkya Rahane has played as a captain in the Indian Premier League for 25 matches. He led the Pune Supergiants for the first time in 2017 in the absence of Steven Smith. In 2018 and 2019, he headed the Rajasthan Royals. However, RR sacked him from captaincy due to poor performance.

Facts No 14:

A rather amazing fact of IPL is that most number of dismissals done by a wicketkeeper in a single innings in IPL. If you are guessing it is MS Dhoni, we are afraid you are wrong. Though he has achieved a high dismissal of 4 wickets in a single inning, he and many others are overshadowed by Sri Lankan player Kumar Sangakkara.

Facts No 15:

The IPL is dynamic, and changes happen left and right when things are not working because, let us face it, it is more of a business. However, there is one team who has never changed its captain which is Chennai Super Kings. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been the captain of this franchise.


So guys this the 15 Amazing Facts about IPL, we hope in this article you get good knowledge about IPL, we will bring more, cricket related related content just stay connect with this site. Now we are going to end  this article and will be right back soon in another article till now share this article to your cricket lover friends. So, bye guys stay fit and stay healthy.

Leave a Comment